18-years and 3-months to a new career?

It was in March of 2017 that I wrote about being laid off from a job of approximately 16-years in my 5,863-days to a new career post. The good fortune at that time is that I landed a new position that allowed me a week without work before starting the next job.

18-years 2

When the new job led to my segment of the business being sold to an investment firm 11-months later, the initial news of that was positive. This means that the unit itself, and the work that I had been doing, continued intact and in the same working location until the acquiring company could decide how to handle our situation. Since my group was building a new platform to replace three systems doing similar flavors of very similar work, it seemed like a decent bet that my work would stick around until the project finished.

The good news of that was supported by a glowing audit of the work my group was doing. The new executive leadership, subject as these leaders were to changes by the managing investors, were impressed by the results from the independent auditors who reviewed our work. My group documented well, made changes quickly, and the quality of work we produced was strong. Our budget also was seen favorably, pending the decision to let us begin making the larger investments that our budget required.

When the results of the glowing report were two-weeks past, questions on when approval of the larger proposed budget were whispers. Four weeks out, there were more questions. At roughly six weeks past the glowing audit, we felt sure whispered suspicions were true.

It would be an even 11-months after the acquisition that my business unit would be replaced by the firm that audited us. The work would be moving roughly 1,200-miles (1,900-kilometers) away. I could apply for the work with the acquiring firm, though there was no guarantee that I would follow the work that was leaving my work place.

18-years 3

I had been laid off … for the second time in 22-months. The hard thing is that the lay off occurred more than five months ago. Let me say that being unemployed for more than five months is hard to comprehend, digest, and accept. Trying to reassure your spouse that you will find another job is hard due to your own internal doubts that escalate from whispers to something louder and more persistent.

You stay positive and committed to working with your network. You accept requests from members in your Toastmasters network looking to help you with their larger scale projects. You contribute to success, even contributing on the margins to advanced levels of success for your clubs, division, and district within Toastmasters.

More than four months in, you start asking for more people to look at your resume. You continue to turn away potential opportunities with close friends because you fear that if you are tainted that you owe it to friends (friends!!!) to not work with them. The career services department at your college offers some minor tips, but you feel there is something more that is needed.

Where I am today is awaiting feedback from hiring managers in my network. Largely these managers suggest resume tips given by the outplacement companies paid for my former employers isn’t on point. Both said to rewrite the resumes more functionally, simply, and directly. The feedback I am awaiting is how my version of this basic approach looks to them.

My 5,863-days to a new career now stands at roughly 18-years and three months towards looking for that next opportunity. I remain optimistic about the lessons I am learning, yet moments in the day-to-day remain a struggle. Staying positive 100% of the time isn’t the reality, though is the goal. If you have can relate, thanks. If you feel like sharing additional ideas on things to do, please do. Thanks so much!

Matt – Monday, July 22, 2019

Author: Mattlynnblog

Matt and Lynn are a couple living in the Midwest of the United States.

2 thoughts on “18-years and 3-months to a new career?”

Leave a comment